Official Batting Helmet of Major League Baseball®


Need An Account?

It's free and takes about a minute.


Official Batting Helmet of Major League Baseball®

Minor League Gold Glove

Back to News
Minor League Gold Glove

Rawlings begins month-long celebration of pro baseball’s best defensive players

ST. PETERSBURG, FL - Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc., and Minor League Baseball™ today revealed the nine Minor League Baseball players who have been chosen as recipients of a 2012 Rawlings Gold Glove Award® for defensive excellence at their position.

The announcement officially starts Rawlings' month-long celebration of defensive excellence, with the 2012 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners for the American League™ and National League™ to be unveiled during a special ESPN Baseball Tonight telecast on Tuesday, October 30, 2012, and culminating with the presentation of the Awards and special lifetime achievement honors at The Plaza Hotel in New York City on Friday, November 9, 2012.

"Rawlings has celebrated defensive excellence at the professional level since the inaugural Rawlings Gold Glove Award team in 1957," said Mike Thompson, senior vice president of marketing for Rawlings, a subsidiary of Jarden Corporation (NYSE: JAH). "Minor League Baseball is and will always continue to be a great partner of Rawlings, and we are thrilled to honor again the hard work and dedication of these nine superior defensive players with the 2012 Minor League Baseball Rawlings Gold Glove Award."

The 2012 Minor League Baseball honorees were selected among qualifying players from the 10 domestic-based, full-season Minor Leagues. They will each receive their own Rawlings Gold Glove Award, modeled after the iconic award given to Major League Baseball's top defensive players, during the 2013 season.

"Minor League Baseball is honored to team with Rawlings Sporting Goods to recognize the best-of-the-best fielders in our leagues with the Rawlings Gold Glove Award," said Pat O'Conner, president of St. Petersburg, Fla.-based Minor League Baseball. "The Rawlings Gold Glove Award is one of the few awards globally recognized in sports."

The 2012 Minor League Baseball recipients of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award are as follows:

Pos.NameClub(s)/MLB organization
PAdam WarrenScranton/Wilkes-Barre/New York-AL
CJosh PhegleyCharlotte/Chicago-AL
1BHunter MorrisHuntsville/Milwaukee
2BRyan CavanRichmond/San Francisco
SSEugenio SuarezWest Michigan/Detroit
3BJoe LeonardMississippi/Atlanta
LFDerrick RobinsonOmaha/Kansas City
CFEngel BeltreFrisco/Texas
RFMarcell OzunaJupiter/Miami

Last year signaled the return of Rawlings recognizing Minor League Baseball players for their defensive prowess. Current Washington infielder Steve Lombardozzi was among the players honored in 2011. The St. Louis-based company named a Minor League all-star fielding team for several years in the 1960s. The honor was known as the Rawlings Silver Glove Award™ during this time.